The Boys of Summer (1982 Edition)

CLASS OF ’82. Members of Selkirk’s title-winning team line up at Philiphaugh. Back row: K. Cassidy, B. Wilson, J. Smail, G. Reid, M. Scott, B. Hunter, M. Lauder, A. Webster (umpire). Front: J. Hunter, L. Muir, R. Brett (captain), T. Anderson (chairman), A. Turnbull (vice-captain), K. Anderson, M. Ford. (Photo: Grant Kinghorn)

THE last time Selkirk Cricket Club’s 1st X1 lifted the Border League trophy was in 1982, and to mark the 30th anniversary of this achievement the club held a special players’ night at Philiphaugh earlier this month.

Around 20 former players and officials attended, including 1982 captain Roly Brett, vice-captain Allen Turnbull and the club chairman in 1982 Tom Anderson.

“It was great to meet up with old team-mates,” said Mr Brett, “and brought back a lot  of happy memories. That season was particularly memorable, as Selkirk also won the Border Knock-out Cup and Border Sixes title. Those were the days!”

During the evening a plea went out to former players to lend their support and experience to the current crop of players, by returning to the club as often as possible and helping the club continue to grow and develop.

The Committee would like to thank John Smail for organising an evening that was much enjoyed by all present.

The picture above is how they look now but this is how the title-winning side looked in their pomp:

Border League Champions 1982: how many faces do you recognise now?


This entry was posted in Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s